Geeks, Girls, and Pen Pals

Written by Arielle F.
These last several weeks have been a blur. New friendships, new experiences, and I have found a use for my Twitter account, which I previously used mostly for cross-posting from my Instagram feed and following random people. I think I’ve doubled my tweet count in a matter of weeks.

Nancy is the one who first introduced me to the International Geek Girl Pen Pals Club. She’s always discovering the cool stuff, and I adore her for that. Things started getting a little crazy after the first few days and we both registered for pen pals and the excitement truly began. Also, much anxiety. What sorts of pen pals would we get? Where would they be from? How would we be matched? Would we get along?

After we got our pair-ups, my pen pal emailed me first thing with her address. London! You can imagine my elation. So we swapped addresses and I began my stationery hunt. I could write a bit of a tirade on that, but it would take way too long. Let’s just say, cute, lined paper stationery is hard to find in this area. If you see any, buy it. Then, you can laugh at me while I cry in the corner. After giving up and dissecting a journal so I could use the colorful paper inside, I wrote an eight page letter and sent it off to London! Next, I’m sending a package with lots of Texas goodies. It was supposed to have been sent already, but I am hunting for a good box. That’s important.

IMG_3450I signed up for Round 2 as well, even though I wasn’t really supposed to. Sorry, I couldn’t resist! I’m glad I did, though, because I got a pen pal in Germany! That’s equally exciting, seeing as my mom’s side of the family is from Germany. I’m working on her letter next, hoping my Oma can help me write a little message to her in German. I wonder if she likes tea. This is all so ridiculously exciting! Can you tell I’m excited? I love this kind of stuff!

So if you’re a geek girl and you want an international pen pal (or at least a pen pal that lives in a different geographic location), sign up. Round 3 starts tomorrow, April 15th. They only take 1000 girls at a time and it fills up pretty fast, so the registration window is a bit limited. Round 2 filled up in around 24 hours.

spiceWhen you sign up, they’ll ask you for your top five geek loves, so go ahead and ponder that now. I suggest trying to include things you will want to talk about. Things that you have in common that you can share and write letters about. Something that you can really connect with someone about. Like tea! We’ve got so many girls on the forums and on twitter that love tea that we’re considering doing a tea swap. I’m going to have to stock up!

Once you officially sign up, go ahead and start stationery hunting. It may take you a while like it did me, and if you’re like I am, you’ll want to write your first letter as soon as you get your pen pal’s mailing address. And if you’re on twitter, check out the hashtag, #IGGPPC. That’s where you’ll find me and Nancy and other geek girls tweeting and posting pics and being quite ridiculous.

IMG_3455

Until next time! #HouseGLaDOS #ForScience

2 thoughts on “Geeks, Girls, and Pen Pals

Leave a Reply

